Annual Book Awards

Paroimia Mockup Cover


The Book Award Committee makes the awards in the following categories:

  • Award for Performance and Visual Culture  (includes media, theatre, art history, film)
  • Award for Literary, Critical Theory, and Cultural Studies
  • Award for First Book
Paroimia Mockup Cover
AATI Book Award


In order to participate in the competition, authors must be members of the AATI two years prior to entry. Eligible are single-authored monographs that focus on any theme related to Italian Studies in English or Italian. In order to qualify in the competition, the first edition/printing of the books must have occurred within two years prior to the competition year (i.e. the 2023 competition is for books published from 2022-2023).

Books may only be submitted once for consideration. If an author chooses to enter their book into the First Book competition, they are kindly requested to include a CV with complete list of publications. Multi-authored works, translations, textbooks, creative writings, and edited volumes will not be considered.

Benefits Awards


The AATI Book Awards consist of a cash award of $500 and a certificate.


To enter a book into the competition, authors or publishers should send four print copies (or ​bound photocopies if the publisher cannot spare additional copies) along with a letter identifying the work. Next Deadline TBD.

Print copies should be sent to:
Prof. Ryan Calabretta-Sajder
2028 W. Lawson St.
Fayetteville, AR 72703

Questions: Contact the committee chairperson, Mark Pietralunga:

Benefits Awards

Join Today

Take a look at the various membership levels and find what works best for you.